A blog by Four Days Late


recording “sound of love”.
August 2, 2009, 8:24 pm
Filed under: blog, music, prayer, recording, update | Tags: , ,

Wow, to look back and see where we’ve come from as far as recording goes simply blows my mind. I remember back when we recorded a short 6 song album in a little studio in Gadsden. We thought we had really made it big then. How little we knew… Fortunately, only a select few people have seen or heard this album, and for that, I’m grateful. (Insert laughter here). I think after a while we gave up on that project and sent it overseas somewhere in Africa or Asia. Hopefully they’ve enjoyed listening to it, and if not, perhaps they’ve managed to use the discs as frisbees or pucks.

Stepping forward, I think I can speak for everyone by saying we enjoyed working on our debut album “Waiting”. There again, we were learning collectively about recording an album. I don’t think bands really get what all goes in to recording an album to make it a piece of art until you dive in and make one. It takes a mindset of being willing to ask, “What’s going to make this a good song?” or “How should we arrange our songs to make this album work?”. I think a lot of bands get it right by having a vision before they step foot inside the studio. It’s all about having a vision.

I think what’s most exciting to me is the fact that we have a vision for this album. We have songs lined up ready to be recorded. We’ve tracked demos and will continue to write and pick the best songs. We’ve already discussed artwork and the album name. This is a huge step in the right direction for Four Days Late. Most importantly, I think our producer has the same goals in mind.

We recorded our first song for the new album entitled “Sound of Love.” The song has a lot of U2ish features to it as well as an awesome piano hook. (I can say U2ish because I’ve heard other people use it; therefore, it’s a real word.) The song was really well written and we definitely came in prepared to record. We had cut roughly 2 or 3 demos of the song before coming and tracking it. We were use to the 1 song in 2 day sessions while recording the previous album. With Jason Hoard’s help, we knocked the entire song out in one day. Maybe he was just really quick, or maybe we’re just really awesome. Either way, we have an incredible first song, and I can’t wait for people to hear it. The new song should start making its way into our set very soon.

Keep us in your prayers.

-Joshua

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I cant wait to hear it. I cant wait to have you guys in Muscle Shoals!

Comment by branjohns

I am so excited for all of you!!!! Praying that your music will fall on the ears, and in the hearts of those who need to hear and feel God’s Love. And may we all feel His power through your work.
CONGRATULATIONS….and Praying for you all.

Comment by Becky W Burgreen

Goose and I just listened to music, playing and singing… Thought it was super. Proud of you guys!!!

Comment by cstapleton




Leave a Reply

